EuroGeographics is a non-profit organization founded in 2001, as an association of European national institutions responsible for cadastre, land registration and cartography. Currently, the association has 56 members from 44 European countries.

The role of EuroGeographics is the promotion of national cartographic and cadastral agencies, national and pan-European products and services in providing a leading role in the development of the European Spatial Data Infrastructure (ESDI). This will provide a common framework for creating reference data on the area collected and maintained by members for the purposes of public administration, economy and citizens.

As an European association, EuroGeographics works closely with the European Commission and the European Parliament supporting the implementation of the INSPIRE Directive, the PSI (Public Sector Information Directive), the Global Monitoring for Environment and Security Service (GMES), the Galileo satellite navigation system, as well as a number of other European initiatives and projects.

The Republic Geodetic Authority represents Serbia in this association since October 2004. Through successful participation in the realization of EuroGeographics projects, the Republic Geodetic Authority had proven to be an equal partner with other members in providing quality and up-to-date geoinformation, giving a national contribution to the establishment of European spatial data infrastructure.


EuroGeographics products

Under the aegis of EuroGeographics, and in cooperation with members of the European National Mapping and Cadastral Agencies (NMCA), datasets were created for the following products:

EuroBoundaryMap – administrative and statistical units scale 1:100 000
EuroGlobalMap - topographic data set scale 1:1 000 000
EuroRegionalMap – topographic data set scale 1:250 000
EuroDEM - digital terrain model


The products are developed in cooperation with members and academic institutions in line with technical specifications, based on international standards such as ISO and OGC. Specifications are constantly improved according to the requirements and needs of the users. In this way, it is possible to create harmonized datasets based on official national data provided by the members.



EuroBoundaryMap represents the European reference dataset of 1: 100 000 administrative units with the geometry, names and national codes of administrative and statistical units provided by the European national mapping and cadastral organizations. In addition to the national administrative division, data on statistical codes and units, which are defined by the national institutions responsible for statistics, are included. This enables connection of up-to-date information on administrative units with statistical information.

Currently, EuroBoundaryMap ver. 5.0 (EBM v5.0) contains data on administrative units for 40 European countries. The product was created in ArcGIS Geodetabase ver. 9.3 in the WGS84 spatial reference system.

The most important benefits of EuroBoundaryMap products are:

  • Data are collected from official national sources and are updated accordingly;
  • Harmonized and GIS-oriented databases;
  • Unified data model implemented for all countries;
  • Link to NUTS codes that are published and maintained by Eurostat;
  •  Metadata available for all national providers;
  • Maintenance and technical support is provided;
  • A common product licensing framework for all key countries.

The German Federal Agency for Cartography and Geodesy (Bundesamt für Kartographie und Geodäsie – BKG)  is in charge of technical support.

A large number of organizations use EuroBoundaryMap including the European Environment Agency (EEA), EC / Eurostat, the European Central Bank and ESRI Redlands. In December 2010, a new four-year agreement was signed between EuroGeographics and Eurostat for the use of EuroBoundaryMap. As a result, there is the need for continuous updating of the existing dataset used to support national censuses in 2011.

Data on administrative units for the territory of the Republic of Serbia according to the official data from the Register of Administrative Units provided by the Republic Geodetic Authority is included in EuroBoundaryMap 5.0 as of April 2011.



EuroGlobalMap is a European topographic data set in the scale of 1: 1 000 000. Topographic data are created and coordinated in cooperation with European national mapping and cadastral organizations based on official national databases.

EuroGeographics has defined a technical specification that describes the content, accuracy and data format. The application of the specification allows the creation of a topographic data set according to a single standard.

Currently, 35 European countries have submitted national data included in EuroGlobalMap ver. 4.0 (EGM v4.0). The product was created in ArcGIS Geodetabase ver. 9.3 in the ETRS89 spatial reference system.

EuroGlobalMap contains information on six topics:
    • Administrative boundaries
International and national administrative boundaries, national administrative units down to NUTS 3 level.

  • Hydrography
    Including lakes, reservoirs, rivers, coastal areas, glaciers, and the like.
  • Transport
    Road and rail network with railway stations, ferry lines and stations, airports, etc.
  • Settlements
    The larger cities are shown as polygons, and smaller cities as points. Settlements up to 1000 inhabitants are included.
  • Heights
    Characteristic height points
  • Geographic names
    Bays, mountains, regions, forests, lakes, rivers, railway stations, etc.

All topics are in vector format.

The French Geographical Institute (IGN) is in charge of technical support.

EuroGlobalMap enables spatial analysis and use of topographic features such as rivers, transport networks, settlements, which may be used for planning, monitoring, network analysis and environmental management.

The topographic data set for the territory of the Republic of Serbia will be included in the next version of EuroGlobalMap according to the data submitted by the Republic Geodetic Authority.